Time and time again

I have always had problems to understand time. Every time I watch one of those films about time travel my mind spins off, but perhaps things are even more complex than in science fiction. People say time flies. So, why is it that sometimes it drags? Is it all a matter of perception? Perhaps, there is no time, simply our notions of it as the characters in A Midsummer Night’s Dream imply:

Theseus:

Now fair Hippolyta, our nuptial hour

Draws on apace. Four happy days bring in

Another moon – but O, methinks how slow

This old moon wanes!

Hippolyta:

Fours days will quickly steep themselves in night,

Four nights will quickly dream away the time;

Perhaps when we extremely busy and on the verge of getting into panic because we have no time to do something, we should just stop. Stop and let time pass –  take a deep breath, make a cup of tea and then restart everything… just to realise that those 15 minutes spent cooling down actually help us to focus and do things more efficiently and faster.

Time is always an issue for everyone, but especially to students  in online programmes  since people usually study part-time and need to juggle between  employment, family life and their studies. People panic because of tight deadlines: some miss them consistently,  some drop out of courses, some fall into depression and inactivity. I’ve said in the forums there that this is just a matter of organization and setting priorities. Perhaps it is easy for me to say that, because I don’t have a partner and my son is 18 and I can say that I have quite good time in my hands; however, I have quite a lot of work as well. I juggle a lot of balls at the same time and when I have some deadlines approaching I sometimes do not sleep more than 3-4 hours at night. Not very healthy at all, but it’s just a matter of priority and commitment.

Although in a very different context and tone, Gandalf’s words to Frodo may also apply here:

All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.

