Summer in Leicester

I am writing this from the library at the University of Leicester where I’m now teaching the listening/speaking module to a group of students starting their university programmes this term. The Study Skills course is designed to help international students to get acquainted with academic work in the UK,  thus in the following fours weeks I’ll be trying to help them to cope with academic presentations, active participation in seminars and essay writing.

I am quite excited about this because I believe my experience can be of some help and also because I think this is an important aspect in helping people to cope with the demands of academic studies in a foreign country. If I can help them to make this cultural and professional transition, I’ll consider myself happy. I just met them yesterday and it seems it is going to be an interesting multi-cultural experience since I have people in the groups coming from China, South Korea, Thailand, Japan, Portugal, Spain and  France.

One thought on “Summer in Leicester

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Comments are closed.