‘Sovereign’ by C.J. Sansom

Even having enjoyed the other three books in the Shardlake series, I approached this one with a bit of skepticism. I thought that I would be exposed to the usual bloodbath of multiple killings. When I got to around page 400  and realised that so far there had been just one body, even if potentially others could have been about, I got pleasantly surprised.

Not going to say anything else on that so I do not spoil the experience of other readers. Even if the whole plot is again about Brother Shardlake been trapped in the Tudor power network ,this one is somehow different. What I really liked about it is that, contrary to most popular fiction and whodunnit stories, innocence and guilt here are hard to be distinguished from each other and the grey territory here is as vast as the lands between London and York.

When is the next one coming out?

Sansom, C.J. (2006) Sovereign. Basingstoke: Macmillan.

