‘The God of Small Things’ by Arundhati Roy

Profoundly disturbing.  Actually, I think it is one the most disturbing stories I have ever read, not only because of the plot, but mainly because of the way in which it is narrated. The book does have a language of its own.

As Updike wrote in his review of the book, Roy ‘peels away the layers of her mysteries’ with delicacy and supreme writing skill. Not only that, when you get to the end, you realise that the there is no real core, but that all those layers were actually the essential  part of the story. It is like an onion: the leaves are the core material themselves. Superb writing.

Roy, A. (1997) The God of Small Things. London: Harper Perennial.

One thought on “‘The God of Small Things’ by Arundhati Roy

  1. Thank you for providing space through “Leave a Reply”. I’m a retired Professor of English, supervising projects by research scholars, presenting papers at conferences / seminars. Some of my papers have been published/ are to be published. My preferred areas include American/ African-American Literature, Indian English Literature and studies in Translation.
    I welcome researchers/ scholars contacting me by E-mail.
    Dr.R.Gandhi Subramanian

Comments are closed.